As with the process of developing building codes, the system in the United States promotes public-private partnerships in accreditation activities. Because the U.S. does not have a national accreditation authority, numerous private sector accreditation agencies in the U.S. provide this service to government and private sector entities.

The International Accreditation Service (IAS), a member of the International Code Council family of solutions, is a member of multiple international organizations for accreditation bodies operating in accordance with ISO/IEC 17011 to accredit testing laboratories, calibration laboratories, inspection bodies, management system certification bodies, personnel certification bodies, and product certification bodies. IAS is a signatory to the APLAC/International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) mutual recognition arrangement (MRA), and a signatory to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) multilateral recognition arrangement (MLA). IAS accreditations are available globally to satisfy national, local and regional accreditation requests. IAS has accredited testing labs, inspection bodies, special inspection agencies, management system certification bodies, personnel certification bodies,  product certification agencies, building departments, and many other entities in accordance with ISO/IEC 17025, 17020, 17021-1, 17024, and 17065, as well as to specific references in the building codes.

IAS has completed over 1,000 accreditations globally in its different accreditation programs, including many customized programs that serve specific industry groups:

  • Building departments and building department service providers 
  • Calibration laboratories 
  • Field evaluation bodies 
  • Fire prevention and life safety departments 
  • IAS FDA Food Safety Modernization Act accredited third-party certification program 
  • Inspection agencies 
  • Management system certification bodies
  • Manufacturers of cold-formed steel components 
  • Metal building erectors/assemblers 
  • Metal building manufacturer inspection programs 
  • Personnel certification bodies 
  • Product certification agencies 
  • Special inspection agencies 
  • Testing laboratories 

The specialized acceptance criteria developed by IAS can also be invaluable to regulators and authorities having jurisdiction that are developing best practices or building capacity through the establishment of new building safety agencies to assess needs and performance. 

Learn more about how IAS can help to promote public safety and sustainability in your region and/or jurisdiction.